Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Water: Drinking Water State Revolving Fund

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF)

The Nation's water systems must make significant investments to install, upgrade, or replace infrastructure to continue to ensure the provision of safe drinking water to their 297 million customers. Installation of new treatment facilities can improve the quality of drinking water and better protect public health. Improvements are also needed to help those water systems experiencing a threat of contamination due to aging infrastructure systems.

The Safe Drinking Water Act, as amended in 1996, established the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) to make funds available to drinking water systems to finance infrastructure improvements. The program also emphasizes providing funds to small and disadvantaged communities and to programs that encourage pollution prevention as a tool for ensuring safe drinking water.

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

Program Guidance

Regulation and Policy

Top of page



Implementation Guidance

Top of page



Fact Sheets & Reports

Awards

  • 2007 DWSRF Awards for Sustainable Public Health Protection
  • 2006 DWSRF Awards for Sustainable Public Health Protection

Reports

  • Drinking Water State Revolving Fund:
    Investing in a Sustainable Future

    2007 Annual Report
    EPA 816-R-08-002, March 2008
  • Drinking Water State Revolving Fund:
    Increasing Impact

    2006 Annual Report
    EPA 816-R-07-002, June 2007
  • Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program:
    Delivering Sustainable Public Health Protection for America - 2005 Annual Report

    EPA 816-R-06-003
  • Drinking Water State Revolving Fund:
    Increasing Impact

    2006 Annual Report
    EPA 816-R-07-002, June 2007
  • Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program:
    Delivering Sustainable Public Health Protection for America

    2005 Annual Report
    EPA 816-R-06-003
  • The Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program:
    Financing America's Drinking Water from the Source to the Tap - A Report to Congress

    EPA 918-R-03-009, May 2003
  • Financing America's Drinking Water - A Report of Progress
    EPA 816-R-00-023, November 2000
  • Clean Water and Drinking Water Infrastructure Gap Analysis Report
    EPA 816-R-02-020, September 2002
  • Implementation of Transfers in the Clean Water and Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Programs: Report to Congress
    EPA 816-R-00-021, October 2000
  • Handbook on Coordinating Funding for Water and Wastewater Infrastructure:
    A Compilation of State A pproaches

    EPA-816-R-03-018, October 2003
  • Case Studies in DWSRF Implementation
    This reports present a series of reviews on how states are implementing their DWSRF programs(public participation, assessing capacity, disadvantaged programs).
  • SRF Fund Management Handbook (PDF) (79 pp, 792K)
    EPA 832-B-01-003

  • DWSRF State Priority System Compendium
    (February, 1999)

Top of page



Fact Sheets

Top of page




Program Data

Related Resources

  • Financing Alternatives Comparison Tool (FACT) - A financial analysis tool that helps identify the most cost effective method to fund a wastewater or drinking water management project. This tool produces a comprehensive analysis that compares various financing options for these projects by incorporating financing, regulatory, and other important costs.

  • Federal Funding for Utilities - Water/Wastewater - in National Disasters (Fed FUNDS)
    Click here to enter Fed Funds Fed FUNDS is an intuitive web-based tool that provides tailored information for water and/or wastewater utilities to obtain information on federal disaster funding programs. Using Fed FUNDS, a utility can easily identify appropriate funding opportunities, gain insight on the application process, access customized forms to document costs, download successful utility applications, and contact utility funding mentors. Fed FUNDS features federal disaster funding programs from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), EPA, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and Small Business Administration (SBA).

Contact Information

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont Region 2: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Region 3: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Region 6: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Region 7: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Region 8: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Region 9: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington
EPA Region 1 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U. S. EPA Region 1
5 Post Office Square
Suite 100
Boston, MA 02109-3912
Katie Marrese
Marrese.katie@epa.gov
617-918-1658 CT, MA, NH & RI
U. S. EPA Region 1
5 Post Office Square
Suite 100
Boston, MA 02109-3912
James Bourne
Bourne.james@epa.gov
617-918-1610 ME & VT
EPA Region 2 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 2
290 Broadway
New York, NY 10007-1866
Laura Fishman
Fishman.laura@epa.gov
212-637-3827 NJ
U.S. EPA Region 2
290 Broadway
New York, NY 10007-1866
Daniel D'Agostino
Dagostino.daniel@epa.gov
212-637-3805 NY
U.S. EPA Region 2 - Caribbean Environmental Protection Div.
City View Plaza II
#48 Rd 165, km 1.2, STE 7000
Mail Code: STE 7000
Guaynabo, PR 00968-8069
Myrek Nunez
Nunez.myrek@epa.gov
787-977-5808 PR
US EPA, Region 2
Virgin Islands Coordinator's Office
The Tunick Building
1336 Beltjen Road, Ste. 102
St. Thomas, VI 00802
Kashema Webbe
Webbe.Keshema@epa.gov
340-714-2333 USVI
EPA Region 3 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 3
1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029
James Kern
Kern.jim@epa.gov
215-814-5788 DE
U.S. EPA Region 3
1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029
Lea Ruiz
Ruiz.lea@epa.gov
215-814-5496 MD & WV
U.S. EPA Region 3
1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029
Vince Gallo
Gallo.vince@epa.gov
215-814-5773 PA
U.S. EPA Region 3
1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029
Patricia Schwenke
Schwenke.patricia@epa.gov
215-814-2903 VA
U.S. EPA Region 3
1650 Arch Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029
Ken Pantuck
Pantuck.kenneth@epa.gov
215-814-5769 DC
EPA Region 4 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 4
Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center
61 Forsyth Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Sheryl Parsons
Parsons.sheryl@epa.gov
404-562-9337 FL, KY & MS
U.S. EPA Region 4
Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center
61 Forsyth Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Stephanie Hammett
Hammett.stephanie@epa.gov
404-562-9754 AL, GA & NC
U.S. EPA Region 4
Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center
61 Forsyth Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Pamela Dukes
Dukes.pamela@epa.gov
404-562-9732 SC
EPA Region 5 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 5
Ralph Metcalfe Federal Building
77 West Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60604-3590
Laura Cossa
Cossa.laura@epa.gov
312-886-0661 IN & MI
U.S. EPA Region 5
Ralph Metcalfe Federal Building
77 West Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60604-3590
Andrew Lausted
Lausted.andrew@epa.gov
312-886-0189 OH & MN
U.S. EPA Region 5
Ralph Metcalfe Federal Building
77 West Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60604-3590
Andrew Bielanski
Bielanski.andrew@epa.gov
312-886-0208 IL & WI
EPA Region 6 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 6
1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200
Dallas, TX 75202-2733
Ashley Howard
Howard.ashleya@epa.gov
214-665-7597 AR & OK
U.S. EPA Region 6
1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200
Dallas, TX 75202-2733
Javier Balli
Balli.javier@epa.gov
214-665-7261 LA & TX
U.S. EPA Region 6
1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200
Dallas, TX 75202-2733
Ruben Camacho
Camacho.ruben@epa.gov
214-665-7599 NM
EPA Region 7 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 7
11201 Renner Blvd.
Lenexa, KS 662193
Sabre Germano
Germano.sabre@epa.gov
913-551-7026 MO & KS
U.S. EPA Region 7
11201 Renner Blvd.
Lenexa, KS 662193
Chris Simmons
Simmons.christopher@epa.gov
913-551-7237 IA & NE
EPA Region 8 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 8
999 18th Street, Suite 300
Denver, CO 80202-2466
Jennifer Berig
Berig.jennifer@epa.gov
303-312-6262 ND, SD & UT
U.S. EPA Region 8
999 18th Street, Suite 300
Denver, CO 80202-2466
Brian Friel
Friel.brian@epa.gov
303-312-6277 CO, MT & WY
EPA Region 9 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 9
75 Hawthorne Street
San Franciso, CA 94105
Josh Amaris
Amaris.josh@Epa.gov
415-972-3597 AZ
U.S. EPA Region 9
75 Hawthorne Street
San Franciso, CA 94105
Juanita Licata
Licata.juanita@Epa.gov
415-972-3450 CA
U.S. EPA Region 9
75 Hawthorne Street
San Franciso, CA 94105
Susan Polanco
Polanco.susan@epa.gov
808-541-2722 HI
U.S. EPA Region 9
75 Hawthorne Street
San Franciso, CA 94105
Abimbola Odusoga
Odusoga.abimbola@epa.gov
415-972-3437 NV
EPA Region 10 Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Contacts
Address DWSRF Contact Telephone Number State's Represented
U.S. EPA Region 10
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101
Richard Green
Green.richard@epa.gov
206-553-8504 AK
U.S. EPA Region 10
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101
Cyndi Grafe
Grafe.cyndi@epa.gov
208-378-5771 ID
U.S. EPA Region 10
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101
Harold Rogers
Rogers.harold@epa.gov
503-326-2715 OR
U.S. EPA Region 10
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101
Bill Chamberlain
Chamberlain.william@epa.gov
206-553-8515 WA

Work Groups


Jump to main content.