Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Water: Wetlands

National Wetlands Awards

The National Wetlands Awards Program celebrates individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary dedication, innovation or excellence in wetlands conservation. Their work covers programs or projects on the regional, state and local levels, and their efforts to educate the public and surrounding communities about the value of wetlands, the programs that are available to protect and restore wetlands, and the value of cooperation among grassroots organizations, educational organizations, private landowners, and government agencies lead to the successful protection of wetland resources. National Wetlands Awardees show how individuals can and do make a difference.

The National Wetlands Awards Program recognizes extraordinary individual achievement in six categories: Education and Outreach; Science Research; Conservation and Restoration; Landowner Stewardship; State, Tribal, and Local Program Development; and Wetland Community Leader. The winners in each category will be honored in a ceremony on Capitol Hill in May 2014.

The awards program is administered by the Environmental Law Institute and supported by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Highway Administration, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, USDA Forest Service, NOAA Fisheries and USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Jump to main content.