Text Size: A A A

Sub-basin Committees

The Mississippi River Basin is comprised of six major sub-basins. Organized geographically, representatives from each sub-basin are housed within one of three Sub-basin Committees. Sub-basin Committees are the coordinators, facilitating the exchange of information and cooperation between the states in the sub-basin during the development of the nitrogen and phosphorus strategies and ensuring the plans are appropriate in scope and content. The Sub-basin Committees also provide a forum for the states within the sub-basin to improve the effectiveness of actions by the states by providing feedback to the Task Force on the success and impediments for implementing the Action Plan.

Map of the Mississippi River subbasins

Top  |  Contact Us

This page is maintained by the U.S. EPA Office of Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds,
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. (4504T) Washington, DC 20460.